Coming Up: Camping!

The tent has been “Duck” taped.  The little mister has his dad’s canteen, from the 1970’s, all cleaned out.  I’d say we are ready!

Camping is coming up this Memorial Day weekend.  Colorado with the fam!  Fun times.  I’m counting on it. 

The packing list for camping goes on and on.  I’m not sure I’ve made a complete list yet and I probably won’t know until we get there.  Then I will remember what I forgot

It’s been a long time since we have been camping.  The last time the girls went, they bathed naked in the creek…and weren’t in the least bit self-conscious.

We will be meeting my sister and her entire family, so it will be a reunion of sorts.  Lots of work yet to do. 

Healthy eating, this weekend, will mean having one s’more per evening around the campfire, instead of two.  My sister is bringing squash and zucchini to throw on the grill to have with our steak and Uncle Jerry’s grilled french fries

We will be hiking mountain trails, playing on the sand dunes and in Medano Creek, cooking out, attempting to make decent cowboy coffee, and oh I hope, relaxing and reading a good book. 

Speaking of good books, I’m taking two, maybe three.  I’m just now getting into Francine Rivers’  Mark of the Lion trilogy.   The first of the three is A Voice in the Wind.  I borrowed it from a friend and can’t wait to begin.  I’m also, ever so slowly, rereading the Mitford books by Jan Karon.  I want to read Home to Holly Springs (I think that’s the name), but I want to have a fresh memory of the tales and characters from the Mitford years first.  I’m now in Out to Canaan.  These two will be more than enough and are vastly different, so as to provide variety, but I’m also taking Beth Moore’s So Long Insecurity.  I’m just about half way through and getting a lot out of it.   I’m to a point in the book, however, where Beth asks the reader not to continue without having at least a small chunk of time completely alone with God in prayer.  Ideally, for me anyway, this would be overnight, away from home and responsibilities, but I’m hoping to at least find a couple of hours for this before we leave.  I’d love to move forward in the book while out in  God’s country.  I’ll also be taking my Bible… I just finished the book of Job, thank goodness.    

Well, off to french braid the “baby” girl’s hair, then onto laundry and packing and shopping and baking… 

…then off to the mountains!

Leave a comment

Filed under Going Places, Life as We Know It!

Leave a Reply

