Spring…time to git ‘er done!

Photo by Bob Hiemstra for Real Simple

This is the day that the Lord has made.  I will rejoice and be glad in it…and get some spring cleaning and organizing accompolished all the while! 

I’ve been spending way more time than I should, lately, perusing some of my favorite nesting and organizing blogs, chasing after inspiration.  Inspiration and MOTIVATION.  I think I’m procrastinating again.  I freeze up sometimes.  I don’t know if it’s the dread of getting started or the fear of failure. 

Either way, it’s time for me to stop being “inspired” by everyone else’s ideas and progress and get my own self in gear! 

So here I go.  To keep myself accountable and maybe make my job a little more fun, I’ll post progress here…as time and energy and motivation permit (that’s my disclaimer in the event that I don’t “post”).    

I’ll have to be selective, as there are so, so many projects to choose from.  I’ll ask myself the following questions in dertermining which tasks to tackle first:  1) Will it simplify my day to day life?  2) Can I do it with little or no cost?  3) Will it make my home more functional?  4) Will it simply make me happy?

Here are a few areas in my home that need attention…

Above is a “pantry” shelf that is actually in the utility room and faces the doorway to the kitchen/dining/family room.  It can be a catch all because it’s purpose sort of evolves with the ebb and flow of life.  It needs to have a more defined purpose while keeping it’s flexibility. 

My closet…yikes!  This is several projects in one.  Baby steps!

The pile on this top shelf is some spring clothes that belong to my Little Miss.  They were at one time culled neatly in a box, which can no longer be seen since she decided to get a chair and go through it one warmish day this past winter.  Warm weather is here to stay and it’s time again to make the switch from sweaters and jeans to capris, shorts and T’s.

( I’ve been keeping the Little Miss’s clothes in my closet for a few years.  It started when she became a quick change artist at the age of two!  I moved all of her things to my closet and they have been here ever since.  It works for me.  I also keep her dirty clothes basket in here, so I have a better handle on what she has to wear and I can easily grab a small load of her laundry to throw in with mine.)

Also in my closet is this bag of stuff I quickly collected off of my desk below, in order to have a more decluttered work space.  “I’ll toss it in here, for now, and deal with it later.”  That’s been…umm…I’m not sure how long ago.  Most of it probably needs to be tossed, but I know of a couple of things I need to keep.  

This could be worse…but it could also be WAY better.  The top of that filing cabinet, that filing cabinet period, could really use some major attention! 

Books and laundry!  This is in our bedroom…next to that desk up there.  At 560 square feet, we refer to our bedroom as the “master living area”.  There are five steps to laundry; sort, wash, dry, FOLD and PUT AWAY…struggling with steps four and five.  Just do it!

Bathroom drawers… Question #1- “Will it simplify daily life?”  YES

And this…

Hair stuff!  I get just a little bit mad every time I open this drawer, which is everyday!  

Then there is the hallway…

Who wouldn’t love to have this much storage?  The problem is that it’s funky fifties type cabinets, deep and tall, lots of wasted space if not creatively used.  I’ve got to make better use of this space.  As it stands, however, the kids have made a “hide out” of that top shelf!  They have hung “art work” and the whole enchilada.    

  And just look at this hall movie closet/candle and seasonal stuff storage closet…

I’m beginning to get that “I think I’ll go to a movie or take a nap, now” feeling. 

There is my baking center and the rest of the kitchen.  And the utility room

I can’t even mention the garage!

I’m off to git ‘er done…not the garage, of course, but something, anything!

Leave a comment

Filed under Home, Unbosomings

Leave a Reply

