Fair Baking

fair16

I just love getting in the kitchen with my children!  It is such a joy.  I love teaching them how NOT to get flour all over the kitchen when they turn on the mixer.  I love showing them how to get the WHOLE egg into the bowl instead of half of it down the FRONT OF THE CABINET.  I love showing them how to scoop salt back OUT OF THE DRY INGREDIENTS and explaining why it’s best not to measure OVER THE BOWL.  I love showing them how to get the excess batter off of the OUTSIDE of the bowl after they drop it into the pan while trying to pour it in.   I  just love baking with the kids!   Can you tell?  Look at the expression on my face above, if in doubt. 

OK.  It’s obvious, I know.  It drives me absolutely nuts to have help in the kitchen.  Isn’t that sad?  But I do let them help (sometimes).  At fair time, they get to take charge.  Yes, it makes me grit my teeth and clinch my jaw.  But I resolve to stay happy (for the most  part) and I am always so glad that we did it when we’re done.  Some mommies are so wonderful and they are just in there having a ball the whole time.  I wish I were one of them.  It’s all about mind set, perspective, and attitude, I think.  I did better this time.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love that they love to help.  I love the IDEA of them working along side me and I always usually sometimes do my best to stay positive.  But I want to really enjoy it…it should be a joy.  I shall work on that! 

fair12fair17fair13fair15fair18fair11A truly precious gift…I KNOW!  How could one possibly not just love this time?  I do!  I really do!  I’m going to miss this someday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life as We Know It!, The Galley

Leave a Reply

