Rum Cake- Part II

3

 

Rum cake has rum in it.  Go figure.  We live in a “dry community”, which means there are no alcoholic beverages sold in stores within the city limits.  That will actually be changing soon, but that’s not the point.  The point is that I made rum cake last night and rum cake has rum in it and rum is an alcoholic beverage, which can’t be purchased in our town.  So, where do people in “dry communities” go to get rum?  The same place we go to get fireworks…we go across the city limit line to the “beer stores” and if you are a “good Baptist”, which I am not,  you go incognito.   All this to say…rum cake ain’t happenin’ everyday…it’s special.

Well, I’m pleased to announce that today the rum cake (that I made last night) was a great success. I say that because today it was delicious, today it was just as good as the coffee house rum cake and today The Captain loved it. But last night, it was less of a hit. I liked it  and so did the birthday boy, but the rum was still quite strong in the glaze and I was sure I might get drunk. My older girls were certain that it was an attempt to poison them. The littles thought I was trying a sneaky new way to administer medicine. I wonder…should I have used less rum in the glaze? Should I have left the glaze over the heat longer? Last night I was thinking of all the ways I might remedy my cocktail cake. But today, oh my, today it was fabulous! It just needed some time… overnight, left alone…who wouldn’t be better after that? Today, it was so delicious. Today, it is so gone!

Here is my take on rum cake!  This will likely make Pioneer Woman nervous.  (I’m sure Food Network will be calling me very soon.)   And try, really try not to covet my laminate countertops…difficult, I know. 

PresentingButter Rum Glazed Rum Cake

The kids had to be picked up from drama class and the Skipper was getting a Happy BDay call from his sister, so he took my camera, his iphone, with him to get the teens.  I forgot get a picture of the cake all cut and looking delicious.  Now it's too late!

I forgot to get a picture of the cake all cut and looking delicious on a lovely plate. Shoot! Now it's too late!

Simple enough...yellow cake mix, instant vanilla pudding mix, rum, veggie oil, eggs, chopped pecans, and, for the glaze, butter, sugar, H20, and more rum.

Simple enough...yellow cake mix, instant vanilla pudding mix, rum, veggie oil, eggs, chopped pecans, and, for the glaze, butter, sugar, H20, and more rum.

This is how I found the eggs when I pulled them out of the fridge! Seriously? Can you believe this? I did NOT do this.

This is how I found the eggs when I pulled them out of the fridge! Seriously? Can you believe this? I did NOT do this.

Preheat the origianl-to-the-house late 1950's oven, which is in desperate need of cleaning, to 325.

Preheat the origianl-to-the-house late 1950's oven, which is in desperate need of cleaning, to 325.

 

Grease and flour bundt pan...oh yeah, you will also need shortening and flour.

Grease and flour bundt pan...oh yeah, you will also need shortening and flour.

 

Isn't my apron cute? My sister and my teens got it at the estate sale of my dear neighbor, who has moved into a nursing home. The apron belonged to his wife. I love it!

Isn't my apron cute? My sister and my teens got it at the estate sale of my dear neighbor, who has moved into a nursing home. The apron belonged to his wife. I love it!

Blend the yellow cake mix and pudding together.  The recipe said "sift", but it's a cake mix and pudding...is that really necessary?  Besides, my sifter broke.

Blend the cake mix and pudding mix together. The recipe said "sift", but it's a cake mix and pudding...is that really necessary? Besides, my sifter broke.

Mix in four eggs

Mix in four eggs. I did all the mixing by hand with a wisk and it worked just fine.

Add 1/2 cup of water

Add 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup oil...I'm feeling very Food Network-ish...Lord, help me.

 

Help has arrived!  I'm cured.

Help has arrived! I'm cured.

 

Add 1/2 cup rum...Bacardi Select or Meyers or other dark rum, yum.  I just said yum because it seemed to go there.  I really don't know what I'm talking about.

Add 1/2 cup rum...Bacardi Select or Meyers or other dark rum, yum. I just said yum because it seemed to go there. I really don't know what I'm talking about.

 
Why am I doing this?  For me?  Future generations?  My secret desire to pretend I’m on Food Network?  Maybe because I recently saw Julie and Julia with my girls?  Really.  I have no idea why I’m spending my time doing this.  It’s one of those things that I will surely look back on and wonder, “what were you  thinking?”, like when I see my hair in my 7th grade school picture.
Back to Butter Rum Glazed Rum Cake…

Oh Nuts! I forgot to show the nuts...I was so proud of them. Well, anyway, you sprinkle about 1/2 cup of chopped nuts in the bottom of the pan. The recipe called for walnuts, but our coffee house rum cake has pecans, so that's what I used. Then you pour the batter into the pan, over the nuts. Bake at 325 for 60 minutes. Why do recipes say that? 6o minutes. Why don't they just say bake for one hour? Is 60 minutes different in different parts of the country, depending on time zone or something? I took a risk and baked mine for an hour.

Oh Nuts! I forgot to show the nuts...I was so proud of them. I think this photo is upside down and sideways. Well, anyway, you sprinkle about 1/2 cup of chopped nuts in the bottom of the pan. The recipe called for walnuts, but our coffee house rum cake has pecans, so that's what I used. Then you pour the batter into the pan, over the nuts. Bake at 325 for 60 minutes. Why do recipes say that? 6o minutes. Why don't they just say bake for one hour? Is 60 minutes different in different parts of the country, depending on time zone or something? I took a risk and baked mine for an hour.

Here’s the part where The Captain took off with his phone, my camera, and I didn’t get to show you (whoever “you” are) how to make the glaze.  Blast!  I was so proud of the glaze.   
Well, it’s just an opportunity for another word picture I guess. 
Butter Rum Glaze:  While the cake is cooling in the pan, melt 1 stick of butter, 1 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of water over medium heat until boiling.  Boil for five minutes, remove from heat and add 1/ 2 cup of rum .  That’s it!   The sauce will bubble up quite impressively when you add the rum.  Since it is alcohol, and therefore flamable, you remove the pan from the heat source before adding the rum…unless you are my firstborn.  Then you would leave it on the heat source in hopes of a cheap thrill.  I actually wondered, last night, when the cake could make you drunk, if I should have put it back on the burner for a minute to let some of the alcohol burn off.
OK…now the glaze is ready to meet it’s match made in heaven.  
This is how I did it and it’s how it should be done.  It makes a difference and it’s worth it.  Turn the cake out of the panPour half the glaze into the pan.  Now, put the cake back into the pan, yes, back in, lining up the little grooves.  This isn’t really that hard, just a little awkward.  It was something I had to learn on my own…it made me nervous.  I was successful and proud.  Now, take a knife and poke holes all over the top, which will become the bottom, of the cake.  Pour the rest of the glaze all over the cake.  Let it set in the pan for awhile, until the glaze is absorbed.  Turn the cake back out onto a plate and WAIT…unless you want to drug the kids, wait.  It would probably be good after just a couple of hours, better after several, best the next day! 
 
Bon Apetite!

Bon Appetit!

P.S.
Somewhere in the middle of it all is...reality! The toilet paper I bought at Wal Mart is still on the table. And is that flour on the floor...way over there?

Somewhere in the middle of it all is...reality! The toilet paper I bought at Wal Mart is still on the table. And is that flour on the floor...way over there?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life as We Know It!, The Galley

Leave a Reply

