Fort Worth

23rd Anniversary and Dance Party 079

I had no idea how much I was going to love this city!  But I really do love downtown Fort Worth.   It was to celebrate 23 years as tall man and wife that we were there in June.   I may have forgotten to come home if not for lack of cash!   

We left home early, stopping first for coffee and a breakfast burrito at the market near our house, and headed East for the 5  hour drive.  We stopped in the first town that had a Wal-Mart to replace the sunglasses that I left in the mini van at home.   The trip went way more quickly with just the two of us, than it ever does in the mini van with the five “little angels”.  I don’t remember the last time I felt that carefree!  Just us.  Alone together.  The whole weekend ahead of us.  

Hello, Fort Worth! We arrived by noon and already, it was a great day!
Hello, Fort Worth!  We arrived by noon and already, it was a great day!

First stop...lunch at the Kimbell!
First stop…lunch at the Kimbell! 

Though the cafe at the museum is renowned for it's cuisine, I think the tall man is quite a sport to eat "lady food" in an art museum cafe. Though this place is renowned in Fort Worth for it’s cuisine, I think the Captain was quite a sport to eat “lady food” in the cafe at an art museum.

Does this food look delicious or just strange?  Seriously, I really don’t know.   I mean, I ate it and it was delicious, so I’m biased.  I think it looks yummy and strange!   It looks exotic and interesting, which it was…to me anyway.   This was actually the Skipper’s plate.  Mine was a bit more normalish looking because I like to stick to familiar foods, but I did try his and it was scrumptious, as was mine.  He may have been secretly thinking he’d get real food when he left this chicky place, but he actually enjoyed it and got full!

Purusing the art was next.  The tall man did a pretty good job of convincing his wife of 23  years that he was truly enjoying himself.  I thought he was more interesting than the art.  This man did a pretty good job of convincing his wife of 23 years that he was truly enjoying himself. Personally, I thought he was more interesting than the art. 

I must be honest, here.  The real reason I wanted to go to the Kimbell was because I’m an idealist and I liked the idea of going to an art museum.  I really don’t know “how” to do it, or what I’m doing there.  Art actually confuses me.  I don’t know how it makes me feel or what the artist is trying to say.  Sometimes I even think, “I could do that”.  I know, I’m a disgrace.  But I went to the Kimbell with an open mind and plenty of time. I learned right away that there is a distinct contrast between ART and pictures of art! (Especially blurry pictures of art…darn camera or was it me?)   At the hope risk of sounding artsy, I was surprised at how  moving and engaging the actual paintings were compared to pictures in my art books.    
This is Monet...I love it!  This makes me want to become an art thief! This is Monet…I love it! This makes me want to become an art thief! 
 
MONET- For some reason, I found it very hard to comprehend what I was looking at, just inches in front of me.  It's a real Monet...it just seemed right to zoom in on his signature. MONET- For some reason, I found it very hard to comprehend what I was looking at, just inches in front of me. It’s a real Monet…it just seemed right to zoom in on his signature. 
Matisse-does this look like it may have been painted bya child?  I guess that is characteristic of Matisse.  I like it. MATISSE-Remember how I sometimes think “I could do that”? Does this sort of look like it was painted by a child? I like it! And the fact is, maybe “anyone” could do that, but it was Matisse who did it! 
I can't remember who did this one, but it kept my attention for some time and made me smile. I can’t remember who did this one, but it kept my attention for some time and made me smile. 
Afternoon at the Kimbell--by Carrie Sue Afternoon at the Kimbell–by Me 

 This was my feeble attempt at capturing God’s own masterpiece.  I looked out the doors toward the grassy area and thought this to be fine art.  I tried, with my little point and shoot, to capture it.  It was far more impressive in person.  Imagine the shadows of the leaves dancing on the ground.  OK, I really must take a break from the art museum…I’m beginning to scare myself.

 After the museum, we checked into our downtown hotel in the heart of Sundance Square and relaxed for a bit before DINNER!   I’m going  to stow away in a plane to Fort Worth right now and get me some of that Mexican food at Mi Cocina!   Oh, por favor! 

23rd Anniversary and Dance Party 047

I would die for this!  It was just that good!
I would die for this! 

 

We lingered at our table a bit on the patio at Mi Cocina and chatted and people watched.  We lingered at our table a bit on the patio at Mi Cocina and chatted and people watched…uh, I mean, we watched people. 
After dinner we strolled over to Barnes and Noble.  I  love books and coffee, together.  I love the smell of Barnes and Noble.  I  love “walking towns”.  When we got to our hotel, we parked our car and walked everywhere.  I loved it.  It seemed like we were in a far away land.  We both kept forgetting we were still in  Texas…until we visited the Stockyards. 
This lovely building is the Bass Performance Hall.  The upstairs window that we landed in front of at Barnes and Noble was adjacent to this lovely place.  The Bass Performance Hall– We happened to land comfy chairs upstairs at Barnes and Noble next to a window that looked out onto this lovely building. 

   Next morning, after breakfast at the hotel, we headed to the Stockyards.  They drive the cattle at 11:00am and 4:00pm daily.

Steers in the streets Steers in the streets…only in Texas! 

  23rd Anniversary and Dance Party 073

Sundance Square Sundance Square 

 23rd Anniversary and Dance Party 079

23rd Anniversary and Dance Party 062

I was SO hoping that there would be a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Fort Worth.  Not only was there one, it was just a five minute walk from our hotel.  I was SO hoping that there would be a Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse in Fort Worth. Not only was there one, it was just a five minute walk from our hotel. 

Happy Anniversary, baby, got you on my mi…ind!  I’m so happy with you, baby…

 Oh baby...got you on my mind! I must get to Ruth's Chris...ASAP! Oh baby…got you on my mind! I must get to Ruth’s Chris…ASAP!  Our table was sprinkled with little heart confetti for the occassion. 

To be continued…

Leave a comment

Filed under Going Places, Life as We Know It!

Leave a Reply

